Brickwood: real coffee and real food

It’s Saturday and you want to give yourself a little treat. Perhaps even power work for a couple of hours, or just go out for a quick read after enjoying a good walk at the park. Or a catchup with a friend, like I did.

Why bother going to the hipster cafes in Central London if you can have good quality for a treat by your doorstep? .

Brickwood Coffee and Bread has it all, literally in front of Clapham Common Station. Actually, this one deserves a trip South of the river, like my friend did.

No fluffiness. Real coffee. Real pastries. Real sandwiches with real bread, which  you know, it’s a rare find in London. Sorry, Brits.

(I know, I know, it’s London, you can find everything, including real bread. I mean, real good bread isn’t something common, available everywhere, at supermarkets, corner shops. They have it Hovis. They have it with white flour only. Real bread – and puff pastry, and bagels, and so on – is something different, and Brickwood has it, trust me).

I like how it is: no bells and whistles. Just real. That is how coffee should be: a real kick. But warm and cozy. Isn’t it?

The ceiling is a great collection of rough coffee bags (I could even spot some bags of Arabica from Brazil, of course!).

They have branches in Balham and Tooting too. The one in Clapham has a lovely back garden for sunny days and friendly staff, good soundtrack  (The Hives, Arctic Monkeys, Bastille… some acoustic pop rock…. I can see you judging me now).

I had a dairy free Smoothie, which was absolutely balanced. Coconut milk, cocoa and banana: I could taste it all. Also, a generous bagel with smoked salmon, and got a slice of their banana bread to go – I read on Foursquare that they had won a best banana bread competition, so I decided to try it.

Banana bread with pecan nuts. Worth the queue in the mornings.

I liked it so much that I stopped by three times after this morning to get a coffee to go… approved. They will be featured again in #TheCapuccinoSeries, for sure.

Brickwood Coffee and Bread (Clapham)

16, Clapham Common South Side, Lambeth, SW4 7AB
Website | Tel: 020 7819 9614 | Directions

Price: £ (£13 for breakfast + a treat to go)
Needs booking? No, but there might be a queue
When? Catchup with friend, and coffee to go.

One thought on “Brickwood: real coffee and real food

Leave a Reply

