I had to lose my privileges to recognise I had them all

 

I had to be classified as ‘Latin’ or ‘Mixed’ to realise how many times I was not judged because I was white.

I had to be seen as a ‘migrant’ to understand why misconceptions of any country are so superficial.

I had to mention all the languages I speak to have a silly mistaken forgiven, even though I was sharply clear on my speech.

I had to taste the bitterness of swallowing my own thoughts to feel how much it hurts not to be able to express your own opinions.

I had to lose my privileges to recognise I had them all.

If you never struggled for being a woman, do not put down other women’s struggle. Do not think your life experience is a picture of what happens to them all. Do not think others did not break barriers for you to be who you are. Less than 50 years ago you would probably be in trouble for doing whatever you do in the weekends.

I am grateful for being brought up hearing that I could do whatever I wanted, that I could be whatever I wanted, that I could go wherever I wanted, that I could achieve whatever I wanted. I can’t help but trying to make sure I will change the minds of the ones who were told otherwise.

Leave a Reply

