My favourite words in British English

Almost nine months after moving to London, I can (finally) say that I am able to understand (most of) the British English with its lovely accent and local expressions. I remember the panic when I gave my phone number to some guys and they would call me in the first months… Most of the times I would just pretend I was busy and then message back. I definitely did not feel confident with all the swallowed “r” and crazy pronunciations, not to mention local expressions.

Have you ever heard a British saying “Leicester”, “Yorkshire”, “Salisbury”, “Southwark”, “Tottenham”? Sorry (but not sorry), you think you know how to say those words, but you don’t.

Anyway, I am not afraid anymore to reply “Pardon me?” when I don’t understand something, and well, it does not happen so often, I must say. Of course, I sort of learned how to write in British English because of uni’s essays — it is basically replacing z with s as in “organisation”, putting some u as in “favourite”, among other things.  I even have my favourite British expressions and words that I list here.

Press play, enjoy Dan’s cute Brit accent and join me:

1. Bollocks!

Means “bullsh*t”. It is like when someone says something really lame. I love how it sounds, and it is like an explosion of indignation from the lips of an English.

2. Darling

Or should I say “dahling”? It is simply charming, tender, hard to explain how much affection one can put in a simple word. If it comes in a combo like “beautiful darling”, the accent sounds just lovely. Fantastic.

Ed Sheeran

Darling I will be loving you… 

3. Mate

I can’t help playing with this one! Specially the expression “just chillin’, mate”. I can’t help faking it when someone asks me “what are you doing?”. LOL

4. Cheers

This one is not as “cheering” in supporting or when someone suggests a toast. It is used as in “thanks”, when for instance a person holds the door to another one carrying loads of bags. Instead of saying “thank you”, you say “Cheers”. It can be used to reply it back, as when someone let you go through and you say “thanks!”, the person will likely answer you back “Cheers” — happened today when a worker waited for me to go through the pathway that was partially closed due to a construction site. Ah, “cheers, mate” is a combo, too.

5. Sh*tloads

Do Americans say that? I don’t know, sounds more common here, but I might be wrong. I love it, anyway, I just picture a pile of sh*t and yeah. As you can see, I’ve been learning very informal expressions here.

This was supposed to be a quick one, so I’ll make a move (ha!). Do you have a British expression you like? Or hate? I’ll keep listening to this enchanting accent and go back to my dissertation. Leave your comment, share your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

