About moving

wherethemagichappens

When I decided that I wanted to have a Masters degree in another country, I never expected it to be easy. So don’t take this post as a spoiled girl complaining about difficulties of life. I know, I know: studying in a top-ranked university in London for a one-year MA program sounds extremely exciting. Don’t fool yourself: it is also insanely stressful, and I haven’t even left home yet.

I was freaking out when I had to do the Visa procedures. Now I am freaking out about the housing options. Being overseas makes it even more difficult. How am I supposed to know all the locations? How am I supposed to rent a place without knowing who I will be sharing with? Where will I stay while I search for housing? How will they accept a rent contract if I don’t have an income? And in the midst of all this, I have the MA itself, obviously, that will be really challenging too.

This is nothing more than actually changing, moving, getting out of my comfort zone. Not only is it about experiencing another culture, but also learning how to deal with real problems. Real life.

I seem to be learning that convenience has a price. It sounds obvious, but you only begin to understand by living it. For example, I can choose the safest option (the university’s dorms), but they are more expensive. I also will have to be following their rules and accept whoever they choose as my flatmates until the end of the year. That is the price I have to pay for choosing comfort.

Also, that magical feeling of accomplishment doesn’t come out of nowhere. Goals are made to be achieved, and they don’t have the same gratification when you skip the steps. You only feel the magic when you’ve gone through the whole path that led you to it.

Coming back and “Hey, I  had an AMAZING time with people from everywhere, I made friends for life, I lived in London for one year and I finished my Masters with a high quality final monograph!”… The first installment of that price is a combination of looking for places, messaging people and finding places.

“There is no free lunch”, an economist [Milton Friedman] would say.

I could give up.  Instead I could define my career path at home, spend my nights watching Netflix, spend my weekends with friends, and generally live an awesome and comfortable life. It would definitely be awesome time too, I know.

But that is not me.

Going out of the comfort zone is scaring… Something in my heart tells me that it is worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

